It’s a girl!

I will keep this short, sweet and to the point by stealing the words of Mr. Graham Nash. But first, a word from me.

I am gleefully 35 years old and have lived a very complex life but came out relatively unscathed. I am who I am, good or bad, because of it. When I hate my life, I still love it. The best thing about time is the ability to change your mind and soul when it needs changing. Mine has changed.

For the first time in my life, I now fully feel the whole presence of both of my biological parents. They are both brilliant people who have done brilliant things, and for two 17 year old kids they managed to breed a decent human being. They never married and never had a relationship in my lifetime that I am conscious of and both became sidetracked by many things down the line of my life. I was lost in the shuffle for a while. But now I have them both and I am a fulfilled and happy person for it. I am me but I am also them and I am proud.

So without further ado…

Teach Your Children
by Graham Nash

You, who are on the road
Must have a code
That you can live by.
And so, become yourself
Because the past
Is just a goodbye.

Teach, your children well
Their father’s hell
Did slowly go by
And feed them on your dreams
The one they pick’s
The one you’ll know by.
Don’t you ever ask them why
If they told you, you would die
So just look at them and sigh
And know they love you.

And you (Can you hear and)
Of tender years (Do you care and)
Can’t know the fears (Can you see we)
That your elders grew by (Must be free to)
And so please help (Teach your children)
Them with your youth (You believe and)
They seek the truth (Make a world that)
Before they can die (We can live in)

Teach your parents well
Their children’s hell
Will slowly go by
And feed them on your dreams
The one they pick’s
The one you’ll know by.

Don’t you ever ask them why
If they told you, you would cry
So just look at them and sigh
And know they love you.

Graham Nash & Bebe

Leave a Reply

