Toonage

Music is my religion, it is my philosophy of life, my therapy, my escape, my energy, and well, much more. As soon as that needle hits the record, I feel warm and fuzzy – like I just had a glass of wine or felt the sun on the first day of summer. The other day, I put on our wedding song and in that one moment, it all came flying back and I looked at him and just felt love. I was  holding my little  tootsie pop, and I think she felt it too. No words needed to be said, just a vibe sent from my heart to hers. I don’t remember much in terms of being a  baby, but I do remember the lyrics to Catch A Falling Star, A Lover’s Concerto, and Once Upon a Time, for no other reason that I think my momma passed along the same vibe. And for all I fear I do wrong, this is the one thing I know I do right, without having to try, think, or fake it. I think my love of music is stamped on my daughter’s soul and she will carry that with her forever. She will hold with her, securely, the feelings I have for her, for my husband, for life and know they’re real. 

I will hold it forever too. Each time we dance, I am taken to a place where we are wrapped up in silk above cobble stone streets, muted light touching our noses and soft petals falling from the sky with the smell of fresh and dewy, glowing and glowing and ease…I can lay in it,  at anytime of the day, when I hear a song. Okay, now I’m gushing, with love, I am…and I’m going to say it, cheesy, cheesy, cheesy me, queen of the sap, but life is beautiful and I love it. I LOVE IT. So, world, if you see me passing, sing a song, you’ll get a smile, maybe even a hug.

Kisses and Bounce,

Flora

Leave a Reply

